Arthur Conan Doyle

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Read for free


The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a collection of 12 short stories by Arthur Conan Doyle, the first in a series of 56 stories that essentially launched the genre of crime fiction. Like many works of literary art, the original is the best and most popular, which some argue is the case with Doyle’s collection. The stories from this collection are:

“A Scandal in Bohemia”
“The Red-Headed League”
“A Case of Identity”
“The Boscombe Valley Mystery”
“The Five Orange Pips”
“The Man with the Twisted Lip”
“The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle”
“The Adventure of the Speckled Band”
“The Adventure of the Engineer’s Thumb”
“The Adventure of the Noble Bachelor”
“The Adventure of the Beryl Coronet”
“The Adventure of the Copper Beeches”

Take it from the master detective himself: “It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts.” So get your facts straight and enjoy these classic stories of Sherlock Holmes.


Arthur Conan Doyle

Detective fiction

Publish date
14 October 1892

United Kingdom